ax4.gif (68957 bytes)

  

Mr. Rapp's Chemistry Help Site
 

Chemistry I-Honors
 Chemistry I
 ICP 1
 Organic Chemistry

 AP Chemistry

 Grades

 Graphing Tips

 Online 3-D Laboratory

 Reference Desk

 AP Chemistry Test

 National Chem. Week

 News from Science

 Links

 After School Help

 Fun Stuff

 Teachers' Lounge

 Bloomington South
 E-mail Mr. Rapp


 Announcements

  • Online textbook and MasteringChemistry
    log in through Canvas, go to this class, then select MyLab and Mastering


  • You can access and/or download your book to a tablet or phone. To get the eText 2.0 app from Mastering's Mobile view, sign into your Mastering course with your student account on a mobile browser on masteringchemistry.com (do NOT go through Canvas). Open the Mobile view menu, select eText 2.0, and then choose the download link for the mobile app.

  • So you don't have Power Point, but you need to print the notes? Download a free Power Point Viewer here.

  • Schedule:

    Monday, September 24 - Electron configurations; ASSIGNMENT: Electron configurations for C, Na, Ni, Br, Sn, Fe, and U; Test #2 corrections for the problem page (required assignment... not optional, not for extra points) are due no later than Friday and must be done during SRT or plus period sometime this week - correct the ones you missed and write a brief explanation why you missed it
    Tuesday, September 25 - Shorthand notation, valence electrons, and ions; ASSIGNMENT: Shorthand Notation on MasteringChemistry
    Wednesday, September 26 - d4 and d9 exceptions; orbital diagrams; last day to turn in light labs for full credit; ASSIGNMENT: Orbital Diagrams on MasteringChemistry
    Thursday, September 27 - Quiz on ONLY -1 Polyatomic Ions (Quizlet: -1 only); Periodic Trends; ASSIGNMENT: Periodic Trends: Size on MasteringChemistry
    Friday, September 28 - last day for full credit on test corrections; Flame test lab; formal lab report info to follow

    Monday, October 1 - Periodic trends: Ionization Energy and Electronegativity; formal lab report directions - submit reports on Canvas by October 11; ASSIGNMENT: Ionization Energy and Electronegativity on MasteringChemistry
    Tuesday, October 2- Review Day
    Wednesday, October 3 - Test on Electrons
    Thursday, October 4 - Quiz on Polyatomic Ions +1, -2, -3 (Quizlet: +1 -2 -3 only); Nomenclature intro; ASSIGNMENT: Cut out ion pieces
    Friday, October 5 - Nomenclature: Ionic Bonding Dry Lab

    Monday, October 8 and Tuesday, October 9 - NO SCHOOL, Fall Break
    Wednesday, October 10 - PSAT
    Thursday, October 11 - Nomenclature; last day to turn in formal lab reports on Canvas; Quiz on all Polyatomic Ions (Quizlet: all mixed); ASSIGNMENT: Writing Formulas and Binary and Ternary Ionic Formulas on MasteringChemistry
    Friday, October 12 - Nomenclature: Naming Compounds; ASSIGNMENT: Naming Binary and Ternary Ionics on MasteringChemistry

    Monday, October 15
    - Test #3 corrections for the problem page (required assignment... not optional, not for extra points) are due no later than Friday and must be done during SRT or plus period sometime this week - correct the ones you missed and write a brief explanation why you missed it; Rainbow Matrix nomenclature game; ASSIGNMENT: Submit a 'test' on the game online
    Tuesday, October 16 - Nomenclature: Covalents and Acids; ASSIGNMENT: Covalent and Acids on MasteringChemistry
    Wednesday, October 17 - Nomenclature: Mixed Review; ASSIGNMENT: Mixed on MasteringChemistry
    Thursday, October 18 - Review Day
    Friday, October 19 - Test on Nomenclature

    Monday, October 22 - Bonding: Types of Bonds; ASSIGNMENT: Types of Bonds and Lewis structures on MasteringChemistry
    Tuesday, October 23 - HAPPY MOLE DAY!; Bonding; ASSIGNMENT: Lewis structures on Lewis structure worksheet & VSEPR
    Wednesday, October 24 - Bonding; VSEPR; ASSIGNMENT: Geometries on Lewis structure worksheet & VSEPR
    Thursday, October 25 - Review
    Friday, October 26 - Quiz on Bonding

    Monday, October 29 - Final Exam Review
    Tuesday, October 30 - Final Exam Review
    Wednesday, November 1 - Final Exam
    Review
    Thursday, November 2 - Final Exams 2, 3, and 4
    Friday, November 3 - Final Exams 1, 3, and 5

  • The Rose-Hulman Homework Hotline toll-free at 1-877-ASK-ROSE is open Sunday through Thursday from 7 to 10 pm.

  • If you need a tutor, Mr. Rapp has a list going, or you can try the IU Chemistry Student Tutor List

  • SAVE PAPER AND INK!!! When you print out the notes on PowerPoint, print "Handouts" instead of "Slides" in the print setup. Also, turn off the backgrounds in Office 2003 (Tools>Options>Print>UNcheck "Background Printing")!


 Chapter Resources & Study Aids

General Information


Units/Chapters

Trimester 2

Last updated on October 23, 2018 8:18 AM